Here’s a letter that I sent to Target customer service:

I’m a longtime customer (and stockholder, by the way), so I hope that gives me a little pull here. I received a hutch that didn’t have the hardware bag in the package. When I called to get the hardware, I found out that Target finds it easier and cheaper to send me the entire package AGAIN (!), have me open it and remove the hardwre packet, then return the freight!!

That strikes me as hugely wasteful and clearly it is a gross waste of scarce resources (oil, trucking, etc.) and an environmental scandal. I understand that the warehouse is huge and that Target may not choose to send an hourly employee to get said hardware bag and send it in a less-wasteful envelope.

However, I am here to tell you that you really should. The solution is simple:

1. Figure out what percentage of your overseas (I assume) suppliers fail to include the hardware bag in the furniture box.

2. Pay a little bit more for a small supply of loose hardware bags.

3. Dedicate the space (probably less than one piece of furniture) to hold these bags.

4. Have your warehouse “pick” this item as it would any other.

5. Send those bags out as needed via 2nd day mail.

I’m betting that, if you crunch the numbers, you’ll find this far more cost-efficient.

I look forward to hearing back from your management team about this matter.

Best,
Robin Kemp

Leave a Reply

